Passing through

October 18, 2008

Passing through Bnagkok that is on our way to the South Thailand part of the trip – having spent 2 fab weeks exploring the North of the country – right up as far as the border with Mayanmar (Burma), including 3 days jungle trekking (38 degree heat and 90% reltaive humidity…  I should never complain about a six mile CFT ever again LMAO) we got into Bangkok at about 7a.m. on the night train from Chiang Mai.

Apologies for the lack of blogs between the last and this, but frankly I am not making too much pains to find internet access; actually it is nice to be sans mobile phone and somewhat incommunicado.  So I will update as and when but I hope nobody was expecting regular publications!

The train journey was made entertaining by the lovely ‘Natalie’.  “She” is a transvestite stewardess aboard the night sleeper service, and I have to say s/he makes Julian Clary look like a straight man.  Never a dull moment on our journey!  I did think it may have been stretching my morale though at 5.55a.m. to be woken to the dulcit tones of “wakey wakey my girls!!  Time to be getting up my darlings!”  I have had a few frightening awakenings in various circumstances but that topped them off LOL

The 3 day trek was to visit some remote hill tribes in the Northern part of Thailand.  The tour operator that we are travelling with (Intrepid) works with an organisation called the PDA – Population & community Development Association – to help with projects and education etc.  We visited 2 villages and got the chance to meet some of the local children, and see some of the work that had been done so far.  Anyone interested in finding out more about PDA could google “the condom king” and see what you get – reducing the growth rate of the Thai population was one of their major achivements since 1974!!!!!

We have visited so many places in just a short fortnight, and now we come to the less manic more holiday part of the trip, heading South to the beaches of Koh Samui and Koh Pha Ngan, but before that I get the chance to return to possibly my favourite place on the planet, Kao Sok National Park.  I came to Thailand in 2006 on my POTL for 2 weeks (too short, hence the return trip) and I was amazed by this place: so tranquil, I could hear no man made sounds; just animals and birds, and the water on the lake.  That was the first time I had been anywhere so peaceful.  Looking forward to going back! 🙂

Leave a comment